About Selian Agricultural Research Institute (SARI)
The Northern Zone Agricultural Research and Development Institute (NZARDI) is one of the seven zones under the Department of Research and Development (DRD) in the Ministry of Agriculture, Food Security and Cooperatives (MAFC). The Zone is made up of three regions namely, Arusha, Kilimanjaro and Manyara Region. Lushoto District and Amani Division in Muheza District in Tanga Region are also part of the Northern Zone research. Arusha Region is comprised of 6 districts, Kilimanjaro Region 7 disticts and Manyara Region 5 districts. The Zone therefore serves a total of 18 districts characterized into 17 Farming Systems. The zone is characterized by several agro-ecological sub-zones with elevation varying from 400-1930 m.a.s.l. and annual rainfall ranging from 150 mm to 1500 mm.
There are three (3) main reasearch stations in the Zone which are:
* Selian Agricultural Research Institute (SARI), Arusha
Administrative building
Administrative building  SARI host other Regional and International Research networks and project like AFSIS in this sister building
 * Horticultural Research and Training institute (HORTI) Tengeru, Arusha
* Kilimanjaro Agricultural Training Centre (KATC), Moshi.
Selian which is the Zonal Headquarters has research mandate for Food Crops, Natural Resource Management, Farming Systems and Socio-economics and Livestock Research. HORTI Tengeru has research mandate for Horticultural Crops, Bananas, Roots and Tbers. KATC deals with research and training on Rice Production.
Sustainable livelihood improvement and food security for communities of Northern Tanzania and sorrounding areas
  • To improve agricultural productivity and income earning of farming communities through research on improved agricultural technologies andgood farming practices
  • Disseminate and promote the improved technologies in collaboration with various stakeholders
In order to accomplish the vission and mission, SARI has five (5) programmes that are mandated for research in various areas. The programmes are:
  • Crop Research
  • Natural Resource Management
  • Farming Systems Research and Socio-economic
  • Zonal Information and Extension Liason Unit
  • Livestock Research