Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA) was established in 1984 by elevating the former Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine of the University of Dar es Salaam. Currently, SUA has four faculties - Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Forestry and Nature Conservation, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, and the Faculty of Science. Other academic units include the Directorate of Research and Postgraduate Studies, Institute of Continuing Education, Development Studies Institute, Computer Centre, Pest Management Centre, SUA Centre for Sustainable Rural Development, and the Sokoine National Agriculture Library. SUA also hosts the Southern African Centre for Infectious Disease Surveillance. The university has for campuses namely, the Main Campus and Solomon Mashlangu Campus in Morogoro; SUA Training Forest in Olmotonyi, Arusha and Mazumbai Forestry Reserve in Tanga. The University has one Constituent College, the Moshi University College of Cooperatives and Business Studies (MUCCoBS).


The Vision of the university is “is to become a centre of excellence and a valued member of the global academic community in agriculture and other related fields, with emphasis on impacting practical skills, entrepreneurship, research and integration of basic and applied knowledge in an environmentally friendly manner”. The vision is guided through the mission, which is “to promote development through training, research, extension, provision of services to the public and private sector in an environmentally friendly manner.”

Currently, SUA offers 30 undergraduate and 45 postgraduate degree programmes. It also offers non-degree programmes including Certificates and Diplomas.  SUA is the only university in Tanzania that offers degree programmes in the broad field of agriculture.
MUCCoBS offers certificates, diplomas, undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes in the disciplines of cooperative and business studies.